Paris Adventures Pt. 20 – Musée Rodin!

I had a meet up planned with a friend at 1PM, so (maybe) for the first time ever, I left my house before noon on a Sunday for my Paris Adventure!  This time around, it was Musée Rodin, a museum that I’d visited before 2 years ago while on a school trip and loved, but didn’t really remember very vividly.

I thought that there’d be nobody there – I got there a mere hour after opening time and it wasn’t the first Sunday of the month or anything – but much to my surprise I actually had to line up to get in.

The queue at Musée Rodin.  At 10 in the morning.

The queue at Musée Rodin. At 10 in the morning.

It actually didn’t take too long to get in – maybe 10 minutes – and I didn’t even have to pay for entry!

The first thing you see after you pass through the ticket checker was Rodin’s home in Paris, where a bunch of his (and other artists’) works are housed.  2 of the rooms – 7 and 8, both of which were on the second floor – were under renovation.

2014-05-11 11.39.47

Rodin’s house!

The weather was actually really good, so I decided to visit the garden before heading inside.

It’s a pretty pleasant garden, especially considering it’s in the middle of Paris.  Spring is here!

2014-05-11 11.40.41 2014-05-11 11.40.47

Of course, there were also actual pieces of art, mostly bronze sculptures.

A piece that has stuck with me for a long time: Rodin's The Gates of Hell, inspired by Dante's Divine Comedy.

A piece that has stuck with me for a long time: Rodin’s The Gates of Hell, inspired by Dante’s Divine Comedy.

2014-05-11 11.45.36 2014-05-11 11.49.51

Monument à Victor Hugo

Monument à Victor Hugo

There was, of course, some cement stuff as well:

2014-05-11 11.46.56

Not sure if they’re hugging or punching holes into each other here.

Nymphes s'embrassant avant 1910

Nymphes s’embrassant avant 1910

Rodin and his huge foot fetish

Rodin and his huge foot fetish

 

Of course, there was also Le Penseur – the Thinker – of which a photo is almost mandatory!

2014-05-11 11.54.41

Le Penseur

Towards the back of the garden there was also a fountain, which I don’t remember seeing when I visited last time.  Maybe I just didn’t wander as much back then.

2014-05-11 11.51.22 2014-05-11 11.51.11

 

I’m not sure what the sculpture is of, though.

After this it began raining, so I quickly ran into the house and started looking at stuff.  It was put in a time sequence, beginning with Rodin’s earlier works:

2014-05-11 11.58.03

La Défense (taille Originale), 1879

2014-05-11 11.57.32

Saint Jean-Baptiste, 1880

It then progressed on to the designs for the Gates of Hell, which I thought was pretty neat.  Basically, it was a room that broke down every detail of the gates in the form of molds, miniatures, and test trials.  A good reminder of how much hard work goes into “genius.”

2014-05-11 11.58.31

 

2014-05-11 11.59.19 2014-05-11 11.58.54 2014-05-11 11.58.41

2014-05-11 12.00.07

Le Penseur: original size. Also sits atop the Gates of Hell

Of course, I also had to take a photo of the classic: le Baiser – the Kiss.

2014-05-11 12.00.28

Le Baiser, 1889

Which really looked like flesh in stone.  The rest of the tour was interesting but not quite as spectacular.  There were some moments that made me laugh, like

2014-05-11 12.01.42

This guy, who’s totally not flexing.

Pretty soon I was onto the second floor, which had a couple more paintings.  At first I was amazed by his painting and sculpting ability, until I realized that a lot of the paintings were by other artists.  One of the paintings I was particularly drawn to was this Monet, because of the way he’s somehow able to capture emotion with paint.

Belle-Ile, 1886

Belle-Ile, 1886

I still have yet to visit his garden… I went there at the end of March but the garden opens on April 1st.

For some reason, I also really liked this painting.  Something about the colors and the way he criss-crosses the leaves of the trees.

Le Penseur de Rodin dans le parc du docteur Linde, Edvard Munch, 1907

Le Penseur de Rodin dans le parc du docteur Linde, Edvard Munch, 1907

And that’s about it!  I took some other photos in the museum but they weren’t by Rodin.

As I was leaving though, I saw the original sized “The Three Shades,” which made me chuckle because they reminded me of the dance in Beyonce’s “Single Ladies”

Les Ombres (taille originale)

Les Ombres (taille originale)

But overall, I really liked this museum.  In fact, I just really like Rodin’s style: very muscular sculptures, and very harsh versus round and soft.  His sculptures look like they’re in pain and although I’m no sadist, I think there’s something very alluring about his work.

I do realize that this is a pretty short post with 90% photos and about 10% text, but the museum actually didn’t give that much information as Rodin the artist (at least, not as much as other museums I’ve been to).  Plus, I’ve had a really long and tiring week and need to study for my cuisine written exam (next thursday!!).  Hopefully, higher-quality content is on the way.

I might visit it again, but sometime in the future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

