Le Cordon Bleu Intermediate: Coq en Barbouille/Rooster Cooked in Red Wine

We made a slight modification of the traditional “Coq Au Vin” with the Coq en Barbouille, which is a wine typical of the Berry region.  This dish… I’ll be honest, wasn’t that good.  I much prefer the Boeuf Bourguignon, although it might have had something to do with the fact that we didn’t make the marinade ourselves and we used a chicken instead of a rooster.

I under-reduced my sauce before adding the blood (I overestimated the thickening power of pork blood), so the sauce was a bit runny.  I also added too much blood at too high of a temperature, which meant the beginning of coagulation of blood (at ~70˚C, not exactly sure).  The blood also overpowered the marinade’s flavor (although I’m not sure that the marinade had much flavor – there were no vegetables in the marinade we got, so we had to add our own vegetables later.  I’m not sure how it’s actually meant to taste, as I was the class delegate and had to rush to the basement kitchen as soon as the chef was finished and didn’t get to taste… oh well, it’s not a particularly good dish.

2014-04-22 17.45.49

Coq en Barbouille

 

Leave a Reply

