(Quite possibly) The Best Ramen in Paris

I think I’ve discovered the best ramen restaurant in Paris.

When my friend Michel told me about it I was kind of doubtful – how good could ramen in Paris be? – but he knows a LOT about food, so I decided to trust his judgement and have a meal there.

When we first arrived, I wasn’t so sure.  The restaurant, Kotteri Ramen Naritake, was a tiny little shop that looked like any other Japanese restaurant in Paris.   Only difference: it was actually run by Japanese people!  (Most “Japanese” restaurants are run by Chinese people because Japanese food has a higher profit margin)2014-03-17 20.27.39

We went slightly earlier (around 7:30PM) than the standard Parisian dinner time to avoid the queues, but there was already a small one forming inside the shop.  As we stood in line inside, we read the menu and ordered.  We were given fat, normal, low-fat options for the soup (higher fat content = richer flavor), and just YOLO-ing it out, we both went for miso ramen with chashu (pork), on the fat option.

We ate our gyoza (dumplings) first, which were pretty standard, and soon enough our ramen arrived.  True to its name, it was fatty.  But it also looked delicious.

Guess what?  It was delicious.  So delicious, in fact, that I didn’t even take a photo, and Michel didn’t stop to take a photo until after he had taken the first bite.

IMG-20140317-WA0017

It was incredibly intense in flavor, and the soup was so thick it was almost like a sauce.  I get why they posted signs saying that if we found the soup too salty we could ask for clear broth, but I didn’t jump for that option.  I just savored all of the umami rushing into my mouth.  It’s been too long since I had ramen this good…

I barely finished the noodles, and I couldn’t finish the soup.  And I eat a lot.

Anyway, check the restaurant out if you’re ever in Paris and craving ramen.  I’m going to take my mum + brother there when they come in 2 weeks (!!!)

In case you ever want to go:

31 Rue des Petits Champs, 75001 Paris.  M. Pyramides

 

P.S. The whole area is basically a Japantown/Koreatown.  There are a lot of cool shops around there that sell Asian foods.  They have Xin Ramen!  And I saw kimchi for the first time in France!

Leave a Reply

