Paris Adventures Pt. 11 – La Tour Eiffel!

I had originally planned to go to Le Musée des Égouts (Sewer Museum) on Sunday, but the weather was ridiculously good, and I felt that it would be a shame if I spent such an incredible day underground, in a sewer (or even a museum, for that matter).  I met up with my friend, and together we decided that the best way to take advantage of the weather was to see all of Paris from  the Eiffel tower (which is pretty close to the museum).

You're going to tell me to visit the sewers on a day like  this?

You’re going to tell me to visit the sewers on a day like this? btw, this is a photo of the boat that we had the LCB lunch on

It was only about a 3 minute walk to the Eiffel tower from where we met up (Pont de l’Alma), so in no time we had arrived at the Eiffel tower!

2014-03-09 14.42.40

Being crazy people, we decided to go up the Eiffel Tower by foot!  I had heard horror stories about how long the stairs are, but I felt like a little bit of extra exercise, so why the heck not, right?

2014-03-10 21.47.27

And so, we soon began the long climb.

Stairs on stairs on stairs on stairs

Stairs on stairs on stairs on stairs

It actually wasn’t that bad at all.  If I had to run up, it would be a different story, but for the most part we were just following the people in front of us, who were quite slow.

Within no time, we had reached the first floor!

View from the first floor!

View from the first floor!  From the Eiffel Tower to l’École Militaire

It was too bad that we could only see from one side of the Eiffel tower.  For some reason on the first floor the other side was cordoned off.

And then it was back to the stairs!  In short time we reached the second floor.  By this time, I was trying to catch my breath…

2014-03-09 15.05.22

In the distance: Sacré Coeur, Musée du Louvre, Le Pont Alexandre III, Centre Georges Pompidou (I think)

2014-03-09 15.05.30

I risked my phone for these photos. On the far right, La Tour Montparnasse

2014-03-09 15.08.09

Trocadéro! and behind it, La Défense

2014-03-09 15.08.51

Just Paris being ridiculously photogenic.

 

Because the view took my breath away!!!!!! Hohohohoho.

2014-03-09 15.09.42

I’m sorry for that.

Unfortunately, we didn’t get to go up to the summit.  We would had to have bought extra tickets and since we’d both already visited the top before (via elevator), we didn’t think it would be worth the extra 6 euros (or something like that) to go to the top.

We ended that day just walking around Paris – we took the metro to Notre Dame and walked around Le Marais area.  We ended up at Les Halles, where we caught the new 300 movie (300: The Birth of an Empire).  It was good, but the first movie was much cooler.

Probably one of the most “tourist-ey” days I’ve spent in Paris.

 

Leave a Reply

