Le Cordon Bleu: Filets de Daurade Poêlés au Fenouil/Sea bream fillets with fennel

Yesterday’s dish (Sea bream with fennel) looked pretty successful, and I think it was pretty good. Gutting the fish and removing the filets was kind of tricky (our first time filleting round fish), but the rest wasn’t too difficult. I kind of messed up with my sauce by adding butter before the sauce was well reduced enough, so I had to reduce the sauce with butter. But the chef didn’t notice!

Somehow, my fish was slightly undercooked (although the skin was at a nice texture). My fennel was well seasoned but should have been cut more thinly, and my tomatoes weren’t seasoned enough. The sauce had a really good taste but was too yellow. But that’s a good thing! I know what to improve on now. It’s also a plus that our class was the fastest class to finish the dish.

Filets de Daurade Poêlés au Fenouil - side note: apparently when you plate fish you present it stomach side towards the bottom of the plate.  Didn't know that.

Filets de Daurade Poêlés au Fenouil – side note: apparently when you plate fish you present it stomach side towards the bottom of the plate.  Didn’t know that.

This is an exam dish!  Not sure if I want to do this one or not, but it’s still fresh in my mind, at least.

 

Leave a Reply

