Le Cordon Bleu Basic: Terrine de Poisson Chaude, Beurre Blanc

Yesterday we made a terrine de poisson, which felt like a combination of cuisine and pastry.  Cuisine because it was mostly savory (salty) elements, and pastry because it involved layering food, making it look pretty, and being patient.

Turns out I am not very good at pastry.

Terrine de Poisson Chaude, Beurre Blanc

Terrine de Poisson Chaude, Beurre Blanc

Looks pretty crappy for multiple reasons: my salmon pieces were irregular and my spinach wasn’t drained enough, so the inside looks kind of bad.  I ran out of fish mousse so I couldn’t fill out the thing properly.  I didn’t put the salmon in properly (and it was overcooked)… sigh.

But I’ll share my successes and failure with y’all.  At least the sauce and the flavor of the terrine were good.

 

Kinda glad this isn’t an exam dish.

 

Leave a Reply

