Le Cordon Bleu Basic: Sauté Boeuf Strogonoff, Riz aux Légumes

Friday, Feb. 28th, 6:30-9:30 PM

Made a boeuf strogonoff that turned out quite well even though I think the plating really needed some work. I should have stacked the pieces of meat on top of each other in a criss-cross pattern instead of just laying it flat like I did.

Seasoning in general was very good, meat was at the right doneness (rare/medium-rare), the sauce was the right thickness, and the rice had the right quantity of vegetables to rice, but the rice and the vegetables were, according to chef, a bit undercooked because in the riz aux légumes they’re really there just to give color to the dish, and we’re not supposed to really be able to feel it in our mouths. Oh well, I’ll just keep that in mind for the next time I do it (if I have to do it for the exam!)

Boeuf Strogonoff, Riz aux Légumes

Boeuf Strogonoff, Riz aux Légumes

But this dish is pretty simple, assuming you don’t split the sauce and your pieces of meat aren’t so small that you can’t sear without making your meat over-done.

 

This dish actually wasn’t to my personal liking, the sauce (even the one chef prepare in demo) reminded me a bit of what I imagine hospital food tastes like.  I did, however, really like the beef because who doesn’t like beef??

Leave a Reply

