Le Cordon Bleu Basic – Boeuf Bourguignon

Today we tackled a classic French dish, Boeuf Bourguignon (which is from the Eastern region of France). On top of just the beef, we also added potatoes turned and cooked “vapeur,” some salted pork breast cut into lardons, onions (glazed brown), and tiny button mushrooms that are a pain to wash and to prepare.

Boeuf Bourgignon

Boeuf Bourgignon

The chef said that overall my dish was good (it could, of course, use more cooking time than we had, because BB is a dish that tastes better the next day), but the beef cubes were cut too small and I wasn’t supposed to sprinkle parsley over the turned potatoes.  Personally I thought that my sauce was a bit sweet for some weird reason – maybe I added too much sugar when glazing my onions – but it didn’t really detract from the taste.

For the meat, we did the marinade last class and let it soak over the weekend, which is more time than is necessary (1 day should be plenty), and I cut my cubes too small when trimming and de-nerving the meat.

 

Leave a Reply

