Paris Adventures Pt. 7 – I’m on a Boat!

On Wednesday all the students from Basic Pastry and Cuisine had a fancy lunch in a boat on the Seine.  I arrived at 12:33PM, dressed the most formally I have dressed since I’ve been in France, breathing hard and feeling the muscle along my shins (anterior tibialis for those of you interesting in human physiology) burning thanks to the 10-minute powerwalk from the metro station.

Our boat, Le Saphir, left the dock (Port de la Bourdonnais) at around 1PM, making me wonder why I had been so worried about being late, and the scenic tour/meal began!

I didn’t get photos of all the stuff we saw (and I began taking progressively fewer and fewer photos as the tour went on), but here are a couple:

Pont Alexandre III

Pont Alexandre III

One of the most elegant and ornamented bridges in Paris.

The Louvre - need I say more?

The Louvre – need I say more?

And of course, this scenery was accompanied by some pretty good food (although we could probably have done it ourselves :P)

Entrée: Coupe rafraichie de brocolis, Saint-Jacques

Entrée: Coupe rafraichie de brocolis, Saint-Jacques

Served in a martini glass with a mini-baguette on the side, this was a cup of broccoli purée with some cream, scallops and caviar (the picture isn’t very clear) on the bottom.  A few people didn’t like it because they only ate the top layer, the broccoli, but eating all three layers together was delicious.

After the appetizers we went out to the back of the boat to enjoy the wind and take some photos! (These are from Facebook – thanks Carol!)

Mandatory Asian pose photo

We also passed by the Notre Dame, and I’ve seen the church dozens of times, but never from this angle

Cathédrale de Notre Dame

Cathédrale de Notre Dame

Then we all went back in for the main course.

Tournedos de filet de boeuf > cèpes et jus Périgueux

Tournedos de filet de boeuf “Rossini”, cèpes et jus Périgueux

This was pretty good.  There’s a piece of foie gras over the meat, and underneath there were some ceps (porcini, I think they’re called in the US).  Other than the beef being a bit dry (it has something to do with the grade of beef and how long it needs to be cooked), everything was pretty good.  I would mark them down for presentation, though.  Look at that drop of sauce!  And the plate wasn’t hot! Zéro!!!

We also saw the Musée d’Orsay, Les Tuileries, le Pont des Arts, le Pont Neuf, but I didn’t get photos.  I was either eating or the landmark was on the other side of the boat.  I did, however, see this familiar face.

La Statue de la Liberté

La Statue de la Liberté

Which I’ve realized seems to just appear everywhere.  Also, sorry about the random hand and camera on the right.

And finally, it was time for dessert.

Mont-blanc à la crème de marron et myrtilles

Mont-blanc à la crème de marron et myrtilles

It looks really really good but the taste was not particularly great – way too sweet (just my $0.02).  I love sugar though, so I ended up eating all of it anyway.

And then it was about time for the end of the boat ride!  A couple of friends and I walked to Trocadéro to get an incredible view of the Eiffel Tower, and despite the weather that had gotten pretty bad, it was still beautiful.

La tour Eiffel

La tour Eiffel

But then I got an even better view.

The Eiffel Tower is only the second most beautiful thing in this picture.

The Eiffel Tower is only the second most beautiful thing in this picture.

Sorry.  I just had to.

But yeah.  A great day 🙂

P.S. I’m going to Strasbourg this weekend!  Will post about that soon!

Leave a Reply

