Le Cordon Bleu Basic: Coeur de Contrefilet Rôti/Roasted Sirloin Filet

This. was. delicious.

Even though I messed up my jus by not caramelizing enough before adding water and adding salt too early, and served on a cold plate because I heated way too early (which led to cold pommes mousseline/puréed potatoes)… the beef was amazing, perfectly cooked, well seasoned and just delicious (in case you haven’t realized yet I love beef).

Coeur de Contrefilet Rôti, Pommes Mousseline

Coeur de Contrefilet Rôti, Pommes Mousseline

If the presentation looks a bit sloppy it’s because the chef was there waiting after I plated, so I didn’t have the time to take a photo until after he tasted the jus and the potatoes andmoved my beef slices around.

But yes.  This was very good.  You should try it, or better yet, make it yourself!

And tada! There you have it.

P.S. In case you haven’t realized, these are just copy and pasted from the notes that I transcribe into Word after taking notes in class.  I apologize for any typos and weird corrections by autocorrect (I still haven’t figured out if it’s possible to have Word detect two languages).

P.P.S.  Sorry for the french ingredients.  I find them easier to understand than the English ones because there’s often specific cuts that are just called the same thing in English (i.e. Ciseler = chopped.  Haché = Chopped.  Concassé = Chopped. Brunoise = Finely diced.  Mirepoix = Coarsely diced.  En dés = diced).

Leave a Reply

