Le Cordon Bleu Basic: Beignets de Gambas, Sauce Tartare/Deep fried Jumbo Shrimp, Tartare sauce and Soufflé au Fromage/Cheese Soufflé

Today we got one of the chefs that I intensely dislike: he gives EVERYONE the same grade no matter how well/poorly you do, and today he spent the last 45 minutes of class talking to the cleaning ladies when we were all waiting to present dishes.  Anyway.

My batter and sauce were both too thin.  The batter because I didn’t know that it was supposed to actually form a crust (I thought that we were meant to be able to see the orange color of the shrimps inside), and the sauce because I didn’t add enough oil, plain and simple.  The presentation was pretty bad because when I presented (and I was first! I did the soufflé second) we didn’t have sauce boats yet so the sauce just looks like a puddle.  It did, however, taste really good, both the shrimps and the sauce.

Beignets de Gambas, Sauce Tartare

Beignets de Gambas, Sauce Tartare

I originally wanted to put the shrimps in a little wax paper cone but I couldn’t figure out how to do it.  Anyway, I need to work on my presentation! Although, today was kind of hard because the plate was huge and I was missing a lot of the stuff I needed 😦

Here’s the recipe!

 

 

Then there was the soufflé, which was underseasoned (actually, I completely forgot to season it) but still tasted ok because of the cheese.  It rose a bit lopsided-ly, but for my second soufflé and the first salty soufflé that I made, I think it was pretty good.  It came out of the bowl completely, which is always a good thing!

2014-02-10 14.42.09

Soufflé au Fromage

This was actually a bit undercooked.  When you do this it’s probably best to let it raise a bit at a high temperature and then lower the temperature to about 150˚C so that the inside can cook without the surface burning.  Here’s the recipe!

 

Leave a Reply

