Paris Adventures Pt. 4: Jardin des Tuileries

I left home relatively early (for me, at least) to go to le Musée de l’Orangerie, which is in le Jardin de Tuileries.  That region of Paris is basically an artist/art lover’s paradise.  On one end, you have the Louvre, on the other end you have l’Orangerie, and just a bit further down you have le Musée D’Orsay (which I wrote about in a very long blog post last week – read it here).

Anyway, there was some kind of riot/protest going on today (#onlyinFrance), so the metro station that I should’ve gotten off at, Concorde, was blocked off by the police.

I ended up having to switch lines and go one station further to Tuileries, which was kind of a pain but well worth it, because I ended up walking all the way from one end of Le Jardin des Tuileries to the other in arguably the best weather I’ve seen in Paris all year. The only things that weren’t perfect were the number of people in the garden, and puddles of water that had formed from the rain yesterday.

I started at the end closer to the Louvre, at the end of Le Grand Bassin Rond.  It’s basically a huge fountain surrounded by marble sculptures of Greek/Roman (I think) people.  The people there were sitting around a huge fountain, reading, napping, playing with their children and dogs, and even just taking selfies (sigh.)

The end I started from: L'Arc du Triomphe du Carrousel/Le Musée du Louvre

The end I started from: L’Arc du Triomphe du Carrousel/Le Musée du Louvre

Le Grand Bassin Rond

Le Grand Bassin Rond – Somehow there was a free chair!

I walked through the garden slowly, avoiding the occasional runner, looking at the various sculptures that were scattered throughout the garden, and enjoying the beautiful weather.  I eventually reached the other end of garden, le Grand Bassin Octagonal, which is similar to the other fountain, but, you guessed it, octagonal!

Le Grand Bassin Octagonal

Le Grand Bassin Octagonal

I also climbed up onto a ledge so that I could get some better pictures, and I stayed outside a bit longer just because the weather was so nice.

Le Jardin des Tuileries

Le Jardin des Tuileries

And then it was time to go into the museum (which I’ll talk about in Pt, 4 cont’d)

Le Musée de L'Orangerie

Le Musée de L’Orangerie

As I left the museum I saw this gorgeous scene, and I had to take a photo, even though it didn’t turn out quite the way I wanted.

2014-02-02 15.49.19

Anyway, read the next post (I’ll hyperlink soon) about the museum!

Leave a Reply

