Le Cordon Bleu Basic: Feuilleté de Poireaux et Oeufs Pochés, Sauce Albufera – Puff Pastry with leeks and poached eggs with Albufera Sauce

Classes today from 8:30 AM to 6:30 PM.  This is what I made!

My puff pastries rose really nicely!

My puff pastries rose really nicely!

And the actual thing:

Feuilleté de Poireaux et Ouefs Pochés, Sauce Albufera

Feuilleté de Poireaux et Ouefs Pochés, Sauce Albufera

To quote the chef “La décoration est bonne, la sauce est très très bonne, l’oeuf est parfaitement poché, les poireaux bien assaisonés, la feuilleté a été bien faite… très très bien, Monsieur.” 😀

Note: This was not the one I served the chef!  I’m actually really mad at myself for not taking a photo of the original one that I plated up, where the egg was heated and the sauce+meat glaze were both still hot so the decorations looks a bit better.  For this, I actually just re-plated a second puff pastry (after eating the first one and cleaning my plate)  just the purposes of this picture.  The glaze was hard and the sauce was solidifying and I was out of red pepper brunoise… so things don’t look quite as pretty 😦

Here’s the recipe! (Things get a little hairy)

 

Leave a Reply

