Paris Adventures Pt. 1: Walking along La Seine

Despite the depressing, rainy weather, today was fun.  After waking up, working out, cooking+eating lunch (I finished my pissaladière!), it was a short walk down Rue de Vaugirard to the metro station Pasteur, and then about 30 minutes on line 6 to metro station Quai de la Gare.

Being me, of course I got out of the station and immediately began walking the wrong way.  Completely the wrong way, in fact: I walked to the end of Quai de la Gare and onto the next street (I forget the name) before I realized that where I was supposed to be headed was actually on the other end of the road, Quai d’Austerlitz.  Genius.

It wasn’t a total waste of time, though – Quai d’Austerlitz and Quai de la Gare happen to be along La Seine, so I got to see Piscine Joséphine Baker – the only swimming pool in Paris that is actually on the river!  It’s probably as close to swimming in the river as I’ll ever get, so I might pop in for a swim when it’s a bit warmer and the rooftop pool is open.  Here’re 2 pictures:

I also took a couple pictures of the river itself:

2014-01-16 14.35.39

And here’s some cool graffiti I saw on a building that was about to be demolished to build 87 new government apartments.

2014-01-16 14.51.16

I thought about walking further and going to Pont de l’Archevêché, the bridge with all the locks on it, but I decided to save that for a day with nicer weather: I still have quite a while here!

I soon got to my destination: the main event, the Pixar Exhibition.

One comment

Leave a Reply

